India · Professional indemnity for doctors
The Best & Worst Professional Indemnity Insurance for Doctors in India (2026)
Based on the filed policy wordings, court records and regulator data we read, the strongest professional indemnity choices for most Indian doctors in 2026 are HDFC ERGO's Mediserve, the only product whose insurer publishes its full paper trail [1,2], and IFFCO Tokio, whose wording keeps the reporting window open the longest after a policy ends [3,4,5,6,7,8]. Among the public-sector insurers, New India and Oriental stand out for charging no compulsory excess [3,9][5,9].
The worst choices are the two whose own published wordings exclude bodily injury — the core of a malpractice claim: Tata AIG's Professional Shield [10] and Bajaj [11] — and Future Generali, which publishes no policy document at all [12]. One caveat frames everything below: no Indian insurer discloses how often it actually pays doctors' indemnity claims [13,14,15,16], so we ranked on what can be verified, not on trust. Even our best pick carries a catch — Mediserve accepts no claim reported after the policy expires [1].
HDFC ERGO Mediserve
The only insurer publishing its full document set [1,2]. A modern, doctors-specific wording — undone only by a zero-day post-expiry reporting window [1].
Best PSUNew India Assurance
No compulsory excess [3,9] and the full 1:1–1:4 cover-ratio menu for doctors [18]. Catch: it does not publish the wording on its own site [3,18].
Best safety netIFFCO Tokio
The one wording whose 90-day extended reporting window opens whether the insurer or the doctor ends the policy [3,4,5,6,7,8] — the friendliest lapse trap in the market.
AvoidTata AIG · Bajaj · Future Generali
Tata AIG and Bajaj publish wordings that exclude bodily injury [10][11]; Future Generali publishes no document at all [12]. You cannot verify malpractice cover before you buy.
Every cell traces to a filed document; "not disclosed" means the insurer publishes nothing on that point, which is itself part of the finding. Documents accessed July 2026.
| Insurer | Product & UIN | Covers malpractice on the published wording? | Post-expiry reporting window | Compulsory excess | Documentation transparency (/10) | Sourced premium signal | One-line verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New India Assurance | Doctors PI wording; no UIN published | Yes — PSU wording responds to bodily injury [9,3,4,5] | 90 days [3,4,5,6,7,8] | None [3,9] | 3/10 — wording only on an agent site [3,18] | None published | Best PSU terms, worst document custody |
| United India | Doctors PI; UIN IRDAN545RP0294V01200708 | Yes [19] | Not disclosed | 0.50% of the limit, min ₹5,000 / max ₹1,00,000 [19] | 6/10 — CIS yes, full wording missing [20] | Radiologist ~₹2,360; surgeon ~₹9,440 for ₹1Cr [21][21] | Only insurer-attributed price tags in the market |
| National Insurance | Doctors PI; UIN IRDAN058RP0063V01200001 | Yes [9,3,4,5] | 90 days [3,4,5,6,7,8] | Two rates in one document — 0.25% and ½% [4] | 7.5/10 — full wording on own site, self-contradictory excess [4] | None published | Cleanest PSU disclosure, sloppy drafting |
| Oriental Insurance | Doctors PI; UIN IRDAN556P0090V01200506 | Yes [5,9] | 90 days [3,4,5,6,7,8] | None — zero compulsory and voluntary [5,9] | 2.5/10 — wording survives only on the Wayback Machine [5] | None published | Great terms, the insurer lost its own paperwork |
| ICICI Lombard | Doctors PI; UIN IRDAN115RP0008V01200203 | Yes [6] | 90 days [3,4,5,6,7,8] | In the schedule; also eaten by defence costs [6] | 4.5/10 — ~20-year-old wording, site blocks fetchers [6] | Doctors report ~₹9,000/yr for ₹1Cr [22] | Biggest book, stalest paper |
| HDFC ERGO | Mediserve PI; UIN IRDAN146RPLB0084V01202526 | Yes — doctors-specific 2025-26 wording [1] | Zero — no claim accepted after expiry [1] | In the schedule (deductible) | 10/10 — full document set on own site [1,2] | None published | Best paper trail; diarise the renewal or lose cover |
| Bajaj General (ex Bajaj Allianz) | Generic PI; UIN IRDAN113RP0031V01200102 | No — Loss defined to exclude bodily injury [11] | 30 days, insurer-cancellation only [11] | In the schedule; applies to defence too | 6/10 — blank arbitration clause in the PDF [11] | Pathologist ₹1,250 for ₹5L, brochure [23] | Doctor cover rides on unpublished endorsements |
| Tata AIG | Professional Shield; UIN blank in the filed copy | No — Bodily Injury excluded outright [10] | 90 days, insurer-cancellation only [10] | In the schedule; applies to defence costs | 5/10 — generic E&O, blank UIN [10] | None published | Cannot verify malpractice cover before buying |
| IFFCO Tokio | Doctors PI; UIN IRDAN106RP0044V01202223 | Yes [3,4,5,6,7,8] | 90 days — opens on either side ending the policy [3,4,5,6,7,8] | In the schedule | 8/10 — wording + prospectus on own site | None published | Widest lapse-window safety net |
| Future Generali (Generali Central) | Broker-sold; no UIN, no public document | Unverifiable — no wording exists [12] | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0/10 — absent from the insurer own product list [12] | None published | Everything known about it is broker paper |
| Go Digit | Generic Professional Liability; no doctors wording | Only if the schedule defines it; adds uninsurable coinsurance [24] | Schedule-defined | Deductible plus a Participation Percentage [24] | Full paper trail, but a generic product [24] | None published | Hammer clause [11,10,24]; not built for doctors |
| IndusInd (ex-Reliance) | Doctors PI; UIN IRDAN103RP0023V01200102 | Yes, but plastic surgeons barred [25] | 90 days [3,4,5,6,7,8] | In the schedule | Wording on site; CIS is marine-cargo boilerplate [26] | None published | Real doctors wording, careless CIS [25] |
| SBI General | No doctors PI product | n/a — does not offer it [27] | n/a | n/a | n/a [27] | n/a | Listed to end the cross-sell confusion |
| IMA PPS / NPPS (mutual pool — not insurance) | Member-contribution scheme; not IRDAI-regulated [28,29] | Occurrence trigger, no exit tail [30,29,31,32] | None — leave and lose defence [30,29,31,32] | None | Varies by state branch | NPPS ₹3,000/yr, ₹10L/case cap [29][29] | A supplement, not a substitute |
The ranking, in brief
1. How we ranked — and what we refused to score
The first axis is a gate, not a score: does the wording a buyer can actually read respond to bodily injury, the core of a malpractice claim? Every public-sector wording, plus ICICI Lombard, IFFCO Tokio, IndusInd and HDFC ERGO's Mediserve, clears it. Tata AIG's Professional Shield does not — it excludes bodily injury outright [10] — and Bajaj's wording defines the very thing it insures, "Loss", to exclude injury arising from bodily harm [11]. Future Generali has no wording to read [12], and SBI General has no product at all [27].
Past the gate we weighed policy terms — the extended reporting period after a policy ends, the compulsory excess, the exclusions and the claim-defeat conditions — and documentation transparency, scored out of ten on what a buyer or an AI answer engine can verify from primary documents. Only HDFC ERGO's Mediserve scores a full ten [1,2]. New India, the country's largest general insurer, does not publish its doctors' wording anywhere on its own site [3,18]; Oriental's survives only in the Wayback Machine [5]; ICICI Lombard still distributes a wording that quotes service tax at 10.2%, roughly two decades old [6].
What we did not score matters as much. We did not use claim-settlement ratios, because none exist for professional indemnity: no Indian regulator publishes PI-specific claim data [13,14,15,16], and IRDAI's insurer-wise tables fold liability into an "Other Segments" bucket alongside crop, credit and aviation [14,13]. We built a 25-judgment catalogue of how insurers behave when doctors claim, but it is a litigated-disputes sample — smooth payouts never reach a courtroom — so it measures conduct inside litigation, not a settlement rate [17]. And we take no commissions, so price sits last, used only where a filed rate or an insurer-attributed quote exists.
2. The best picks, in detail
HDFC ERGO Mediserve — the only full paper trail
Mediserve is the one product in this market where you can read everything before you buy: the wording, the prospectus and the customer information sheet all sit on the insurer's own site [1,2]. It is current and written for doctors, not retrofitted from a generic professionals' policy. Its exclusions are the sharpest anywhere — opioid and vaping liability, clinical trials, IVF and wrongful-life claims, and anaesthesia unless a registered anaesthesiologist administers it [1] — which cuts both ways, because newer paper is tighter paper.
The catch is severe. Mediserve accepts no claim reported after the policy expires [1], the harshest reporting bar we found; a patient who sues six months after you let the policy lapse becomes your problem, not the insurer's. Like almost every wording here, it also deems a claim abandoned if you do not sue within twelve months of a disclaimer [3,4,5,6,7,8,1]. It fits a doctor who keeps continuous cover and wants a modern, readable contract — and who diarises every renewal.
IFFCO Tokio — the widest safety net when cover lapses
The most dangerous moment in claims-made cover is the gap when a policy ends. IFFCO Tokio handles it better than anyone: its 90-day extended reporting period opens whether the insurer or the doctor ends the policy [3,4,5,6,7,8], where most rivals grant the window only if the insurer cancels. Defence costs come out of the limit, as they do at every carrier in this market [3,20,4,5,6,1,7,8,11,10,24], and the same twelve-month sue-or-abandon clause applies [3,4,5,6,7,8,1]. It suits a doctor who changes jobs, cities or insurers and cannot guarantee an unbroken renewal history.
New India and Oriental — the no-excess PSUs
All four public-sector wordings descend from the same 1991 Market Agreement on rating professional indemnity, and three of them are near-identical [9,3,4,5]. Two are worth singling out. New India charges no compulsory excess [3,9] and keeps the full cover-ratio menu — 1:1 through 1:4 between the per-claim and annual limits — for doctors [18]. Oriental is the only public-sector wording with genuinely zero excess, compulsory and voluntary, on its face [5,9]. Both give a doctor the rare thing of paying nothing out of pocket on a covered claim.
Both come with the same warning: New India does not publish the wording on its own site [3,18], and Oriental has lost custody of its filed document, which now survives only in web archives [5]. New India also appears in more of our catalogued judgments than any other insurer — 13 of 25 — which reflects the size of its book and its long history in the line, not a verdict on how it pays [17].
United India — the only insurer-attributed price tag
United India earns its place for one reason almost no competitor offers: verifiable prices. Through a broker's insurer-attributed pages, a radiologist pays about ₹2,360 a year and a surgeon about ₹9,440 for the same ₹1 crore of cover [21][21] — the four-times spread mirroring the 1991 rating table's surgeon multiple. The wording carries a real compulsory excess, 0.50% of the limit with a ₹5,000 floor and ₹1,00,000 ceiling [19], which quietly resolves a common broker error that quotes 5%. The blemish is on the paperwork: United India's own prospectus opens by describing cover for the accidental breakage of plate glass, a copy-paste from another product [20].
3. The worst — with the documents that earn it
Worst here attaches to facts we can quote from filed documents, not to reputation. Three carriers cannot be shown to cover the core malpractice risk from anything they publish.
Tata AIG Professional Shield — excludes the core risk
The product behind Tata AIG's doctors marketing page is a generic errors-and-omissions wording called Professional Shield, and it excludes bodily injury outright — "physical injury, sickness, disease or death" [10]. That is the peril a malpractice policy exists to cover. The published copy does not even carry a UIN in its footer, and the doctor-specific terms, if they exist, ride on endorsements no one can read. The extended reporting period runs 90 days but only if the insurer cancels or declines renewal — a doctor who lapses or switches gets nothing [10]. A hammer clause lets the insurer cap its liability at a settlement the doctor turned down [11,10,24].
Bajaj — a definition that reads out malpractice
Bajaj's published wording is generic too, and its central definition undoes it: "Loss" means financial injury other than that arising out of bodily injury or property damage [11]. Read literally, the base wording does not respond to a patient's injury at all; doctors are written through a separate proposal form that implies unpublished endorsements. The wording also has an arbitration clause whose heading is present but whose body is blank in the published PDF [11], and the free extended reporting period is only 30 days, only if Bajaj cancels [11]. The one carrier-published doctors' premium we found anywhere is Bajaj's — ₹1,250 excluding tax for a general pathologist at ₹5 lakh of cover [23] — but the rate chart behind it is not public.
Future Generali (Generali Central) — nothing to read
Future Generali, now Generali Central, sells a doctors' indemnity product entirely on broker paper. There is no wording, no prospectus, no customer information sheet and no UIN, and the product does not appear on the insurer's own 984-row filed-product list [12]. Everything a buyer can learn about it comes from a broker, and none of it can be checked against a filed document. On our transparency axis it scores zero, and that is the whole point.
SBI General and Go Digit — the ones that do not fit
Two names surface in searches and should be set aside. SBI General has no doctors' indemnity product at all — confirmed against its own filed UIN list, not merely unlocated [27]; its closest product carries an absolute bodily-injury exclusion. Go Digit sells only a generic professional-liability policy with no doctors' wording, and it stacks a "Participation Percentage" coinsurance on every claim above the deductible — then voids cover if you insure against that coinsurance elsewhere [24]. It also carries a hammer clause [11,10,24]. For a doctor, the medical scope hangs entirely on how the schedule is worded.
Dishonourable documentation
Several wordings we would otherwise rate higher are undone by their own paperwork. National Insurance states two different compulsory-excess rates — 0.25% and one-half per cent — inside a single filed document [4]. IndusInd's customer information sheet instructs the doctor to give notice of a claim "on the Carriers, Port Authorities or other Bailees", marine-cargo boilerplate pasted into a liability policy [26], and its product page bars plastic surgeons from cover entirely [25]. ICICI Lombard's wording still shows service tax at 10.2%, a roughly 20-year-old filing distributed in 2026, and the only reliable copy lives on IRDAI's site because the insurer's own domain blocks document fetchers [6].
4. Where the IMA protection schemes fit
Doctors often ask whether an Indian Medical Association protection scheme replaces a policy. It does not, and the difference is structural, not just a matter of price. The schemes are mutual member-contribution pools, not insurance: they are not IRDAI-regulated, carry no policyholder protections and offer no recourse to the Insurance Ombudsman [28,29]. They also run on the opposite trigger to every insurance policy — they cover incidents that occur during active membership, and no scheme document provides any tail, so a doctor who leaves or lapses loses defence for later-filed suits over incidents that happened while a member [30,29,31,32].
The caps vary. The national scheme protects ₹10 lakh per case and ₹20 lakh a year for a ₹3,000 annual fee that falls to ₹2,500 if you stay claim-free [29][29], with an enhanced tier to ₹50 lakh for ₹10,000 [29]. State branches go higher — Karnataka to ₹1 crore a financial year [33,30]; Gujarat to ₹1 crore per accident and per year for ₹1,000 for GPs or ₹5,000 for specialists [31]; Kerala in stackable ₹5 lakh units, but only for claims within Kerala [32]. Set the national ₹10 lakh cap against India's largest medical-negligence award — roughly ₹11 crore as paid in the Kunal Saha case [34] — and the gap is obvious.
The scheme rules also carry traps a policy does not. Kerala forfeits cover if a member replies to a legal notice without the scheme secretary's permission [32]. Gujarat can refuse renewal after five litigations [31]. Karnataka adds an uncapped levy under which claims are shared among members, and suspends non-payers without notice [33,30]. Used well — as a supplement, or for the criminal-case defence support a policy may not give — a scheme has a place. As a doctor's only protection it is thin, and corporate hospitals that demand an insurance certificate will not accept scheme membership instead.
5. What no insurer will tell you
Here is the uncomfortable core of this whole exercise. No Indian regulator publishes professional-indemnity claim data. The phrase does not occur in IRDAI's Annual Report, the Handbook on Indian Insurance Statistics, the General Insurance Council Yearbook or the Insurance Ombudsman's report [13,14,15,16]. IRDAI's insurer-wise claims tables stop at five segments and fold liability into "Other Segments" with crop, credit, engineering and aviation [14,13]. So when a seller quotes you a "claim settlement ratio" for doctors' indemnity, understand that no such figure exists.
What can be seen is indirect and sobering. India's liability insurance segment paid out between 31% and 51% of premium as claims over the last decade [15], and 46.2% in 2023-24 [15] — structurally far below motor or health at around 85%. Part of that is long-tail litigation and heavy reinsurance cession, with more than half of liability premium ceded [13], not proof that doctors are underpaid. When general-insurance disputes reach the Insurance Ombudsman, 86.7% of the entertainable complaints are about claims being partly or wholly repudiated [16], and the ombudsman may award compensation of up to ₹50 lakh — a ceiling on the award, not on the size of claim it will hear — to individuals, group policyholders, sole proprietorships and micro enterprises alike [13,35,36,37].
Our own catalogue tells the same story from the courtroom. Across 25 doctors'-indemnity judgments, the insurer contested liability or coverage in about 22 and paid voluntarily in none [17]. The most litigated repudiation ground was late or missing notification of the claim [17]; in ten cases the insurer ran the negligence defence itself, the product working as intended [17]. And in a 2024 ruling the National Commission held that a PI insurer cannot be ordered to pay the patient directly at the consumer-forum stage — the doctor pays the award first and recovers under the policy afterwards [38]. Does worst-on-paper mean an insurer will not pay? We cannot know, and neither can the seller. That uncertainty is exactly why the wording, the reporting window and the excess — the things you can read — decide this ranking.
6. How to choose the cover that actually holds
Start with your specialty's litigation profile. Surgery produced 29% of the medical-negligence cases the National Commission decided between 2015 and 2019, the largest share of any specialty [39], and obstetrics and gynaecology 21% [39]. Anaesthesiology drew the highest average payout [39], and the biggest single awards in that study reached ₹1.38 crore [39].
Then size the cover against awards, not against premium. Court awards have climbed since the Nizam's Institute case crossed ₹1 crore in 2009 [40] and the Supreme Court's ₹76 lakh Maharaja Agrasen award in 2019 [41]. Under-insurance is not hypothetical: in one Kerala case a ₹10 lakh award ran against a ₹4.75 lakh policy limit, and the surgeon personally paid the ₹5.25 lakh gap [42]. One advisory recommends ₹50 lakh to ₹1 crore for GPs, rising to ₹3-5 crore for cardiologists and oncologists [43]; treat that as a floor for high-risk work.
Watch the cover ratio. The AOA:AOY ratio sets how much of your annual limit any single claim can draw — IndusInd publishes its menu from 1:1 to 1:4 [25] — and a 1:1 ratio is safest if you might face more than one claim in a year. Check the cosmetic carve-back if you do reconstructive work: several insurers exclude cosmetic surgery but preserve burns and trauma reconstruction, while United India, Oriental and HDFC Mediserve exclude it flat [3,4,6,7,8,19,5,1], and IndusInd will not cover plastic surgeons at all [25].
Finally, treat notification as a discipline. The clearest precedent in our catalogue upheld an insurer's repudiation because a surgeon told it about a negligence case only nine years in, when execution began; the court held notice conditions substantive, not formalities, and the doctor paid the award himself [44]. Whatever you buy, tell the insurer the moment a claim or even a circumstance appears, and keep every policy schedule — in three of our 25 cases the insurer denied a policy had ever been issued [17].
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best professional indemnity insurance for doctors in India?
How much does ₹1 crore of doctors indemnity cover cost?
Is the IMA Professional Protection Scheme enough on its own?
Do insurers actually pay doctors indemnity claims?
Is professional indemnity insurance mandatory for doctors in India?
What is the best indemnity cover for dentists and cosmetic or reconstructive surgeons?
Do residents and junior doctors need their own cover?
What is never covered by a doctors indemnity policy?
Sources
Every figure on this page is footnoted to one of the primary documents below. Reliability tiers: A = regulator, court or filed document; B = reputable publisher or carrier official page; C = user-generated (reported by users).
- 1.HDFC ERGO General Insurance — Mediserve Professional Indemnity — policy wording. https://customer-portal-assets.hdfcergo.com/documents/MediserveProfessionalIndemnity-PolicyWordings-526654013238.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 2.HDFC ERGO General Insurance — Mediserve Professional Indemnity — Customer Information Sheet. https://customer-portal-assets.hdfcergo.com/documents/MediserveProfessionalIndemnity-CIS-840893480119.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 3.New India Assurance Co. — Professional Indemnity Policy for Doctors and Medical Practitioners — policy wording. https://www.iosweb.net/m-documents/DRINDEMCLAUSE.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 4.National Insurance Co. (NICL) — Professional Indemnity (for Doctors & Medical Practitioners) — full wording + specimen schedule. https://nationalinsurance.nic.co.in/sites/default/files/2026-04/Prof.Indmn%20Doctor%20Medical%20estb%20prospectus.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 5.The Oriental Insurance Co. — Professional Indemnity Policy for Doctors & Medical Practitioners — policy wording (Wayback copy). https://web.archive.org/web/20230402045912id_/https://orientalinsurance.org.in/documents/10182/5106103/Terms+%26+conds+of++PROFESSIONAL+INDEMNITY+POLICY+FOR+DOCTORS+%26+MEDICAL+PRACTITIONERS.pdf/065f44d4-58e6-6bca-a65e-a414a2197132Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 6.ICICI Lombard (hosted by IRDAI) — Professional Indemnity Policy (For Doctors & Medical Practitioners) — policy wording. https://irdai.gov.in/documents/37343/993134/6_Policy+Wordings+Doctors+and+Medical+Practitioners_Misc+21_GEN073.pdf/dcdecdb3-f154-806d-88d7-1ebffee7eb61?version=1.1&t=1668243606849&download=trueTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 7.IFFCO Tokio General Insurance — Professional Indemnity Policy — wording for Doctors, Medical Practitioners and Medical Establishments. https://www.iffcotokio.co.in/content/dam/iffcotokio/policy-wordings/motor/professional-indemnity-policy-wording-doctors.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 8.IndusInd General Insurance (ex Reliance General) — IndusInd Professional Indemnity Policy for Doctors and Medical Practitioners — policy wording. https://www.indusindinsurance.com/Downloads/professional-indemnity-policy-for-doctors-and-medical-practictioners.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 9.All-India general insurers (Oriental-branded copy) — Market Agreement on Rating of Professional Indemnity Insurances (1991). https://telearogya.com/assets/PROFESSIONAL_INDEMNITY-MARKET_AGREEMENT.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 1991-12-01 · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 10.Tata AIG General Insurance — Professional Shield — policy wording (generic professionals' E&O). https://www.tataaig.com/s3/professional_shield_417d979962.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 11.Bajaj General Insurance (ex Bajaj Allianz) — Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy — policy wording (generic, retail UIN). https://www.bajajgeneralinsurance.com/download-documents/commercial-insurance/professional-indemnity-insurance-policy/Professional-Indemnity.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 12.Generali Central Insurance (ex Future Generali) — Complete filed-product list for website (984 rows). https://www.generalicentralinsurance.com/footer-pdf/product-list-for-website.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 13.IRDAI — IRDAI Annual Report 2024-25. https://irdai.gov.in/annual-reportsTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2025-12-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 14.IRDAI — Handbook on Indian Insurance Statistics 2024-25. https://irdai.gov.in/handbook-of-indian-insuranceTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2026-02-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 15.General Insurance Council — GI Council Yearbook 2023-24. https://www.gicouncil.in/yearbook/2023-24/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 16.Council for Insurance Ombudsmen — Insurance Ombudsman Annual Report 2023-24. https://cioins.co.in/annualreports/AnnualReport2023-2024.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2024-09-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 17.IndianKanoon (catalog compiled by Best Worst Insurance) — Doctors' PI judgments sweep — 25-case catalog of insurer conduct (consumer fora, High Courts, Supreme Court). https://indiankanoon.org/search/?formInput=%22professional%20indemnity%22%20doctorTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 18.New India Assurance Co. — Professional Indemnity Insurance — product page. https://www.newindia.co.in/professional-indemnity-insuranceTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 19.United India Insurance Co. — Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy — Customer Information Sheet. https://uiic.co.in/web/sites/default/files/Policy-Document/Professional%20Indemnity%20Insurance%20Policy%20CIS.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2024-10-01 · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 20.United India Insurance Co. — Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy for Doctors — prospectus. https://uiic.co.in/web/sites/default/files/Policy-Document/Professional%20Indemnity%20Insurance%20Policy-%20for%20Doctors.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 21.SecureNow (broker) — UIIC doctors' indemnity insurance — SecureNow product page. https://securenow.in/uiic-united-india-insurance/doctors-indemnity-insuranceTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 22.r/indianmedschool — Professional indemnity: ICICI Lombard vs United India (thread). https://www.reddit.com/r/indianmedschool/comments/1recnc6/professional_indemnity_icici_lombard_vs_united/Tier C · User-generated (reported by users) · Published 2026-06-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 23.Bajaj Finserv (Bajaj General distributor) — Bajaj doctors' professional indemnity — 1-page brochure. https://cms-assets.bajajfinserv.in/is/content/bajajfinance/bajaj-allianz-policy-broucherpdf?scl=1&fmt=pdfTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 24.Go Digit General Insurance — Digit Professional Liability Policy — retail policy wording. https://www.godigit.com/content/dam/godigit/directportal/en/downloads/others/policy-wordings-digit-professional-liability-policy.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 25.IndusInd General Insurance — Professional Indemnity Insurance — product page. https://www.indusindinsurance.com/smes-insurance/professional-indemnity-insuranceTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 26.IndusInd General Insurance — IndusInd Professional Indemnity Insurance — Customer Information Sheet (generic umbrella PI). https://www.indusindinsurance.com/Downloads/indusind-professional-indemnity-insurance-policy.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 27.SBI General Insurance — SBI General filed UIN product list. https://content.sbigeneral.in/uploads/Product_list_for_website_2_New_896efc8d9c.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-08-17
- 28.Indian Journal of Ophthalmology (via PMC) — IJO editorial on medico-legal protection and the IMA/AIOS Professional Protection Scheme (Jan 2020). https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6951135/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2020-01-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 29.Indian Medical Association (national) — IMA National Professional Protection Scheme (NPPS) — brochure. https://www.ima-india.org/branch/cms/images/8746_NPPS.pdfTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 30.IMA Karnataka PPS (KPPS) — Registered Constitution of IMA-KPPS. https://www.imakppsbengaluru.org/PDF/Constitution-Of-IMA-KPPS.pdfTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 31.IMA Gujarat State Branch — Professional Protection Scheme — Gujarat State Branch rules. https://imarajkot.org/uploads/file/professional-protection-scheme-gujarat-state-branch.pdfTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 32.IMA Kerala State Branch — IMA Kerala Professional Protection Scheme — scheme page and rules. https://www.imakerala.com/schemeTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 33.IMA Karnataka — IMA-KPPS fees and benefits summary. https://imakarnataka.in/PDF/IMAKPPS.pdfTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
- 34.Supreme Court of India (via IndianKanoon) — Balram Prasad v. Kunal Saha (SC, 2013) — AMRI / Anuradha Saha. https://indiankanoon.org/doc/35346928/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2013-10-24 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 35.Council for Insurance Ombudsmen / Ministry of Finance, Department of Financial Services — Insurance Ombudsman Rules, 2017 — consolidated text updated as on 9.11.2023 (G.S.R. 413(E) of 25 April 2017, as amended). https://www.cioins.co.in/notification/Insurance%20Ombudsman%20Rules,%202017(%20as%20amended%20till%2009.11.2023).pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2023-11-09 · Accessed 2026-08-18
- 36.Ministry of Finance (Department of Financial Services), Government of India / Gazette of India — Insurance Ombudsman Rules, 2017 — G.S.R. 413(E), as originally notified. https://www.cioins.co.in/notification/Ombudsman%20Rules,%202017.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2017-04-25 · Accessed 2026-08-18
- 37.Ministry of Finance (Department of Financial Services), Government of India / Gazette of India — Insurance Ombudsman (Amendment) Rules, 2023 — G.S.R. 828(E). https://www.cioins.co.in/notification/Insurance%20Ombudsman(Amendment)%20Rules,%202023.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2023-11-09 · Accessed 2026-08-18
- 38.NCDRC (via IndianKanoon) — Gopal Aggarwal v. Sarvodya Hospital (NCDRC, 2024). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/73878019/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 39.Indian Journal of Medical Ethics — Medical negligence in cases decided by the NCDRC: a five-year retrospective review (2015-2019, n=253). https://ijme.in/articles/medical-negligence-in-cases-decided-by-the-national-consumer-disputes-redressal-commission-a-five-year-retrospective-review/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2023-02-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 40.Supreme Court of India (via IndianKanoon) — Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences v. Prasanth S. Dhananka (SC, 2009). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/1110505/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 41.Supreme Court of India (via IndianKanoon) — Maharaja Agrasen Hospital v. Master Rishabh Sharma (SC, 2019). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/35792279/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 42.Kerala SCDRC (via IndianKanoon) — United India Insurance v. Lathika (Kerala SCDRC, 2015). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/4522398/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 43.LiableCover (IRDAI-registered advisory, ILGD00005503) — Professional indemnity insurance for doctors — LiableCover guide. https://liablecover.com/professional-indemnity-insurance-for-doctors/Tier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 44.NCDRC (via IndianKanoon) — Dr. Tarunjit Dutta Roy v. New India Assurance (NCDRC, 2013). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/194587303/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 45.SecureNow (broker) — Doctor professional indemnity insurance — SecureNow hub. https://securenow.in/profession/doctor-professional-indemnity-insuranceTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 46.r/indianmedschool — Does anyone have indemnity insurance? (Policybazaar pricing thread). https://www.reddit.com/r/indianmedschool/comments/1myqvae/does_anyone_have_indemnity_insurance/Tier C · User-generated (reported by users) · Published 2025-08-24 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 47.retirewise.in (blog) — Professional indemnity insurance for doctors in India (blog). https://www.retirewise.in/professional-indemnity-insurance-doctors-india/Tier C · User-generated (reported by users) · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 48.National Medical Commission — NMC Registered Medical Practitioner (Professional Conduct) Regulations 2023. https://www.nmc.org.in/rules-regulations/national-medical-commission-registered-medical-practitioner-professional-conduct-regulations-2023-reg/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2023-08-02 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 49.Drishti IAS — NMC RMP (Professional Conduct) Regulations 2023 held in abeyance. https://www.drishtiias.com/daily-updates/daily-news-analysis/nmc-registered-medical-practitioner-professional-conduct-regulations-2023Tier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Published 2023-08-23 · Accessed 2026-07-17
- 50.r/indianmedschool — Indemnity insurance — online vs offline? (thread). https://www.reddit.com/r/indianmedschool/comments/1sl1c6y/indemnity_insurance_online_vs_offline/Tier C · User-generated (reported by users) · Published 2026-04-14 · Accessed 2026-07-17
Everything we’ve published on doctors’ indemnity
The full library behind this verdict — the wordings, the exclusions, the case law and the specialty-by-specialty reads.
Comparisons & verdicts
Carrier-vs-carrier reads of the filed wordings, and who they leave exposed.
- Government Health Schemes for Senior Citizens in India (2026) — What PM-JAY's 70+ Cover Actually Gives Your ParentsEveryone 70 and above is eligible for ₹5 lakh of PM-JAY cover regardless of income — but for most families it is ₹5 lakh for the household, not ₹5 lakh each. The enrolment document is the Ayushman Vay Vandana card, which is not the LIC pension scheme with the near-identical name. Take-up is about 20% of the eligible population.
- What You Will Actually Pay (2026) — Co-Pay, Sub-Limits and Room Rent on an Indian Senior Health Policy, in RupeesRun one real ₹4,12,158 knee-replacement bill through ₹5 lakh of senior cover at a dozen Indian insurers and the family's share ranges from ₹41,216 to ₹3,62,158. The co-payment, sub-limit and room-rent terms that produce that spread, converted into rupees from the filed documents.
- Senior Citizen Health Insurance Premiums in India (2026) — Every Published Rate Chart, Matched on Co-Payment and Tax-CurrentComparing headline senior premiums across insurers compares nothing, because the co-payment underneath them differs from 0% to 50%. Matched properly at 20% co-pay, ₹10 lakh, age 61–65, metro — ICICI Lombard ₹34,409, Tata AIG ₹35,000, Niva Bupa ₹36,930 — the cheap-looking plan is the dearest. Every rate we could read from a filed document, plus the carrier still charging 18% GST on cover that has been exempt since 22 September 2025.
- Compulsory Excess in Indian Doctors' Indemnity (2026) — Who Charges Nothing, Who Charges Twice, and the Policy That Contradicts ItselfThe excess is the one sum a doctor pays on every covered claim, and the Indian market is incoherent about it. New India and Oriental charge none. United India charges 0.50% of the limit. National Insurance's single filed document states two different rates in two different places. ICICI Lombard, Tata AIG and Bajaj charge the excess against defence costs as well as damages, and Go Digit adds a coinsurance you are forbidden to insure.
- The Lapse Trap: Post-Expiry Reporting Windows in Indian Doctors' Indemnity (2026) — From Zero Days to Ninety, Read From Every Filed WordingDoctors' indemnity in India is claims-made, so the day your cover ends the clock on reporting a claim starts. We read every filed wording: HDFC ERGO's Mediserve accepts nothing after expiry, Bajaj gives 30 days only if it cancels, Tata AIG 90 days only if it terminates, six carriers give 90, United India's window cannot be verified at all, and the IMA scheme has no tail whatsoever.
- Hammer Clauses in Indian Doctors' Indemnity (2026) — The Three Insurers That Can Cap Your Defence, From the Filed WordingsA hammer clause lets your insurer stop paying at a settlement figure you refused. We read every published Indian doctors' indemnity wording: Bajaj, Tata AIG and Go Digit carry one, Go Digit adds a coinsurance you are forbidden to insure, and Tata AIG bars you from instructing a lawyer without consent. Ranked, with the verdict.
- Which Doctors' Indemnity Policies Don't Actually Cover Malpractice (2026) — The Bodily-Injury Test, Run on All 13 Carriers' Filed DocumentsA doctor buying professional indemnity is buying cover for harm to a patient. We ran one test across every Indian carrier's filed documents: does the published wording respond to bodily injury at all? Tata AIG's excludes it outright, Bajaj defines it out of "Loss", and SBI General has no product to test.
- Every Doctors' Indemnity Policy in India, Compared on 11 Terms — From the Filed Wordings (2026)The complete comparison of Indian doctors' professional indemnity insurance — 13 carriers and the IMA schemes, compared on 11 terms taken from the filed policy wordings, prospectuses and customer information sheets. Ranked by what each insurer will actually let you read before you buy.
- Doctors' Indemnity Premiums in India (2026) — The Two Published Rate Rules Disagree by 10×, Reconciled Against Every Verified PremiumTwo published rate rules for doctors' indemnity in India disagree by ten times — 0.02–0.2% of the sum insured against 0.2–1% — and nobody reconciles them. We do, against every insurer-attributed premium published in this market: ₹2,360 a year for a radiologist and ₹9,440 for a surgeon at ₹1 crore of cover, plus the full 2026 premium table by specialty.
- Professional Indemnity Insurance for Anaesthetists in India (2026) — The Highest-Severity Specialty in the DataAnaesthesiology is only 6% of India's NCDRC medical negligence caseload — but 13 of 16 cases ended in a payout, and its average award of ₹13.78 lakh is the highest of any specialty. Low frequency, highest severity. What that means for your limit, your premium band, and one exclusion that names your specialty.
- Professional Indemnity Insurance for Gynaecologists in India (2026): The Risk Your Policy Cannot CoverObstetrics and gynaecology is India's second most litigated specialty, and its largest career risk — PCPNDT prosecution, which suspends your registration once charges are framed — is excluded from every indemnity policy we read. What cover does and does not do for an obstetrician.
- PSU vs Private Insurers for Doctors' Indemnity in India (2026) — What the Wordings Actually SayDoctors are told public-sector insurers pay better and private insurers buy faster. No settlement data exists to prove either. So we compared the filed wordings instead: PSUs win on excess and defence clauses, private insurers win on documentation, and the worst reporting window in the market belongs to a private carrier.
- Professional Indemnity Insurance for Dentists in India (2026): You're Being Sold the Wrong ProductAcross 111 Indian dental negligence judgments the mean award was ₹1.04 lakh — but cases took an average of 5.3 years. Dentists are sold ₹1 crore limits for a risk whose median award is under ₹1 lakh. What the litigation record says a dentist should actually buy.
- Professional Indemnity Insurance for Surgeons in India (2026): Who Will Insure You, and What Your Policy Won't CoverSurgery generates more Indian medical negligence suits than any other specialty. Two insurers refuse plastic surgeons outright, and whether reconstructive work is covered changes from carrier to carrier. What a surgeon should check in the wording before comparing prices.
- New India vs ICICI Lombard vs HDFC ERGO: Which Doctors' Indemnity Policy Is Better in India (2026)?A clause-by-clause comparison of the three doctors' indemnity policies Indian doctors actually shortlist. We read each filed wording: New India charges no excess but hides its policy document, ICICI's excess eats defence costs, and HDFC ERGO publishes everything then shuts the reporting window the day cover ends.
- IMA Professional Protection Scheme vs Private Indemnity Insurance (2026) — The Honest Comparison for Indian DoctorsIMA's Professional Protection Scheme costs ₹2,500–3,000 a year but caps payouts at ₹10–20 lakh and is not IRDAI-regulated insurance. We compare every state PPS variant against private indemnity policies — caps, fees, defence control and the traps in both, sourced from the scheme rulebooks and filed policy wordings.
Guides
How the cover works, what to buy, and how much of it.
- How Much Indemnity Cover Does a Doctor in India Need? (2026) — The ₹1 Crore Default, Tested Against Award DataEveryone recommends ₹1 crore. Nobody shows the arithmetic. We tested the default against what Indian courts actually award, what insurers actually pay, and the three multipliers — interest from the complaint date, defence costs inside the limit, and no annual reinstatement — that make a nominal limit smaller than it looks.
- Junior Doctors Under a Consultant: Do You Need Your Own Indemnity Cover in India? (2026)Working under a consultant does not keep your name off the complaint, and it does not put you on anyone else's policy. At seven of the eleven Indian doctors' indemnity wordings we read, a junior doctor is covered only if named in the schedule — while the nurse beside them is covered automatically.
- Do Residents and PG Students Need Indemnity Insurance in India? (2026) — And the Cheapest Ways to Get ItThe NMC's postgraduate regulations never mention insurance — we searched all 20 pages. Meanwhile seven of eleven insurers cover a junior doctor only if they are named in the schedule, while the nurse beside them is covered automatically. What residents are actually exposed to, and what cover costs.
- Is Professional Indemnity Insurance Mandatory for Doctors in India? (2026) — The Law vs the RealityNo law forces an Indian doctor to buy indemnity insurance in 2026 — the NMC's 2023 regulations never mandated it and are in abeyance anyway. But hospital empanelment contracts and TPA agreements make it compulsory in practice. Here is exactly where the requirement comes from, sourced to the regulations and judgments.
Answers
One question, answered from the policy documents.
- Cashless Refused for a Senior Citizen (2026) — Every Escalation Route and the Clock on Each OneA cashless refusal is not a refusal of the claim. The insurer had one hour to decide, three hours to authorise discharge, and fifteen days to settle the reimbursement — and if it misses that, it owes interest at bank rate plus 2% from the day you told it, unasked. Every rung of the escalation ladder with the clock and the fee on each, why the Insurance Ombudsman has to come before the consumer commission, and what our 152 hand-coded awards say about your odds on each ground.
- Can Your Insurer Raise a Senior's Premium by More Than 10%? (2026) — No. IRDAI's Cap, VerbatimNo. IRDAI directed insurers on 30 January 2025 that they shall not revise the premium for senior citizens by more than 10% per annum. It is a prohibition, not a consultation requirement; it starts at age 60, not 70; and it binds old policies as well as new ones. Here is the sentence, what it does not cover, and what to do with a renewal notice that ignores it.
- Why Senior Citizens' Health Claims Get Rejected in India (2026) — Every Repudiation Ground, From 152 Ombudsman AwardsWe read the complete published corpus of Indian insurance-ombudsman mediclaim awards — 5,016 records — and hand-coded the 152 that identifiably concern a senior citizen. Pre-existing disease is the ground insurers plead most and lose most. What defeats a senior's claim is the arithmetic of their own policy: sub-limits upheld in 70% of the awards where they were raised, named exclusions 91%, waiting periods 71%. A disputes sample, never a claim-settlement ratio.
- Does Your Indemnity Policy Cover Your Clinic Staff and Nurses? (India, 2026)Employed nurses and qualified technicians are covered automatically at seven Indian carriers. Junior doctors are covered only if named in the schedule. Unqualified staff cost extra. And the clinic entity itself is usually not covered at all — one hospital's ₹20 lakh claim failed for exactly that reason.
- Claims-Made Policies and the Retroactive Date Explained (India, 2026) — The Lapse That Deletes Your PastYour indemnity policy responds to claims made against you this year, not to treatment you gave this year. One lapsed renewal can reset the retroactive date and push years of past practice outside cover. Every Indian carrier's reporting window and retroactive rule, from a 90-day standard to one carrier that allows nothing at all.
- Criminal Cases and Your Indemnity Policy (India, 2026) — What No Private Insurer Will Pay ForEvery Indian doctors' indemnity wording excludes criminal acts. Yet a doctor can be prosecuted under BNS section 106(1) for causing death by negligence, and under the PCPNDT Act with registration suspended once charges are framed. What the policy does not do, what Jacob Mathew protects, and why doctors keep IMA membership alongside a policy.
- AOA:AOY Ratio Explained (2026) — What 1:1, 1:2 and 1:4 Actually Mean on a Doctor's Indemnity PolicyAOA is what one claim can draw; AOY is what the whole year can draw. Pick 1:4 on a ₹1 crore policy and only ₹25 lakh is available for the claim you are actually facing. The ratio menus each Indian insurer publishes, what they cost, and why the ratio matters more than the headline number.
- Got a Legal Notice? The Doctor's Indemnity Claim Process in India, Step by Step (2026)Notify in writing the same day, forward everything, reply to nothing. Late notification is the single most litigated reason Indian doctors' indemnity claims fail, and one surgeon who told his insurer nine years late lost his cover entirely. The full sequence, with the deadlines each carrier actually imposes.
- What Doctors' Indemnity Insurance Does NOT Cover in India (2026) — Every Exclusion, Carrier by CarrierCriminal acts, fines and penalties are excluded everywhere. Beyond that the exclusions diverge sharply: a burns-reconstruction surgeon is covered at five carriers and excluded at three, two insurers will not write plastic surgeons at all, and one 2025-26 wording excludes IVF, opioids and vaping. Read from the filed wordings.
- What Is Professional Indemnity Insurance? (India, 2026) — A Doctor's Plain-English GuideProfessional indemnity insurance pays the compensation and the legal defence when a patient sues you for negligence. It is not an indemnity bond. It is claims-made, not occurrence-based, and defence costs come out of your limit at every Indian carrier. What it is, how it works, and what it does not do.
- Why Doctors' Indemnity Claims Get Rejected in India (2026) — Every Repudiation Ground, From 25 JudgmentsWe read 25 Indian court and consumer-forum judgments where doctors' indemnity insurers were in the dock. Late notification is the number-one claim-killer; insurers contested in 22 of 25 cases. Every repudiation ground, what stuck, and the policy clauses that decide claims — sourced to each judgment.
Trackers
Live status of the cases and regulations that change what your policy is worth.
- NMC Professional Conduct Regulations: Status Tracker (2026) — Still in Abeyance, Three Years OnNotified 2 August 2023, suspended 23 August 2023, and still in abeyance when we checked the NMC's own rules index on 25 July 2026. The 2002 MCI ethics code remains operative. What that means for whether indemnity insurance is mandatory for Indian doctors — and what the 2023 regulations never said about it anyway.
- Are Doctors Still Liable Under the Consumer Protection Act? (2026) — The V.P. Shantha Status TrackerYes — as of 25 July 2026, doctors remain suable in consumer fora. Lawyers were taken out of the Consumer Protection Act in May 2024 and doctors were not, a three-judge bench held the reference unnecessary, a review was dismissed, and a fresh petition seeking parity is pending. The full chronology, maintained.
Research
Original analysis of court records and market documents.
- Medical Negligence Award Tracker: India (2026) — What Courts Actually Order Doctors to PayAverage NCDRC payouts run from ₹4.95 lakh in general medicine to ₹13.78 lakh in anaesthesiology. The tail reaches ₹1.38 crore, ₹2 crore and — once — ₹11 crore as paid. The specialty-by-specialty award record, the claimed-versus-awarded gap, and how long it takes. Maintained annually.
- How Insurers Behave When Doctors Claim (India, 2026) — 25 Judgments, AnalysedNo Indian regulator publishes professional indemnity claim data, so we read the judgments instead. Across 25 court and consumer-forum decisions, insurers contested in about 22 and paid voluntarily in none — but ran the doctor's own defence in 10. The full conduct analysis, with the bias warning that has to travel with it.