BestWorstInsurance

India · Doctors indemnity · Research

How Much Compensation Do Indian Courts Award for Medical Negligence?

By Best Worst Insurance Editorial TeamUpdated 25 July 2026

Indian medical-negligence compensation has two distributions, and almost every article about it describes only one. The everyday distribution is modest: across the 253 cases the NCDRC decided between 2015 and 2019, negligence was established in 135 — 53% [1] — and average payouts ranged from ₹4,95,400 in general medicine to ₹13,78,300 in anaesthesiology, the highest of any specialty [1]. The tail is a different animal: ₹1.38 crore in paediatrics and ₹1.1 crore in obstetrics [1], ₹2 crore for a wrong-kidney nephrectomy [2], and ₹6.08 crore plus 6% interest from 1999 — roughly ₹11 crore as actually paid — at the very top [3]. Between the two sits the fact that makes limits hard to set: what patients claim and what forums award differ by an order of magnitude, with the highest surgery claim at ₹10 crore against a highest surgery payout of ₹47 lakh [1].

Award benchmarks: the everyday distribution and the tail

Awards are what a forum ordered, not what an insurer paid. Most carry interest from the date of complaint, so the sum finally paid exceeds the figure in the order.

BenchmarkAmountSource and date
Highest Indian medical-negligence award₹6.08 crore plus 6% from 1999 — roughly ₹11 crore as paid [3]Supreme Court, 2013
Wrong kidney removed instead of the diseased one₹2 crore — ₹1.5 crore lump sum, ₹10 lakh each to family members, ₹1 lakh costs, the NCDRC calling it one of the gravest forms of negligence [2]NCDRC, May 2026
Highest single NCDRC awards in the 2015-2019 study₹1.38 crore in paediatrics and ₹1.1 crore in obstetrics and gynaecology [1]NCDRC, 2015-2019
Obstetric negligence, apportioned₹1 crore split ₹80 lakh on the hospital and ₹20 lakh on the treating doctor personally, plus ₹10 lakh punitive costs [7]NCDRC — order 16 years after the delivery [7]
Crore-level era beginsRoughly ₹1 crore for paralysis after tumour surgery [8]Supreme Court, 2009
Vicarious liability of a hospital₹76 lakh for a missed retinopathy-of-prematurity screening leading to total blindness [9]Supreme Court, 2019
Elective angioplasty on a co-morbid patient, vegetative state₹65 lakh plus 6% from the date of complaint, against the hospital and the doctor jointly and severally [10]NCDRC
Compensation apportioned personally onto an attending doctor₹5 lakh of a ₹20 lakh award; the Supreme Court later cut the hospital's share and left the doctor's untouched [11][11]Supreme Court, 2025
Under-insurance gap₹10 lakh awarded against a ₹4.75 lakh policy limit; the surgeon personally paid ₹5.25 lakh [12]Kerala SCDRC, 2015

1. Two distributions, and why conflating them misleads

Ask what Indian courts award for medical negligence and you get one of two answers, depending on who is talking. Insurance sellers quote the tail, because it sells cover. Sceptical doctors quote the everyday cases, because it justifies not buying much. Both are describing real data, and neither is describing the whole.

The everyday distribution. Across the 253 medical-negligence cases the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission decided between 2015 and 2019, negligence was established in 135 — 53% [1]. Average payouts by specialty ran from ₹4,95,400 in general medicine to ₹13,78,300 in anaesthesiology [1]. Every one of those averages is under ₹15 lakh.

The tail. ₹1.38 crore in paediatrics and ₹1.1 crore in obstetrics inside the same study [1]. ₹2 crore in a 2026 NCDRC order against a surgeon who removed a healthy kidney [2]. ₹76 lakh against a hospital held vicariously liable for a missed screening [9]. ₹65 lakh plus interest for an elective angioplasty that left a co-morbid patient in a vegetative state [10]. And at the top, ₹6.08 crore plus 6% interest from 1999, roughly ₹11 crore as paid [3].

Insurance is bought for the second distribution and priced against the first. That is why premiums feel cheap relative to the headlines and why limits chosen against the averages fail.

2. The specialty table

From the published tables of the NCDRC five-year review, 253 cases decided 2015-2019. Award rates are computed from the awarded and refused counts in the same table.

SpecialtyCasesAverage payoutHighest payout
Surgery73 of 253, 29% [1]₹8,37,837 [1]₹47,00,000 against a highest claim of ₹10 crore [1]
Obstetrics and gynaecology54, 21% [1]₹9,97,166 [1]₹1.1 crore [1]
General medicine43, 17%₹4,95,400 — the lowest of the major specialties [1]₹15,65,000
Orthopaedics28, 11%₹7,10,266 [1]₹20,00,000
Anaesthesiology16, 6% [1]₹13,78,300 — highest of any specialty [1]₹47,00,000 against a highest claim of ₹3.58 crore [1]
Paediatrics6, 2%Not reported₹1.38 crore — the largest single award in the study [1]
Ophthalmology12, 5%Not reported₹50,00,000
All specialties253 decided; negligence established in 135, or 53% [1]Anaesthesiology's award rate of 13 of 16 was the highest we can compute [1]Commonest failings: lack of skill or care 36%, deficient medical records 22% [1]

Three things in that table are worth stating explicitly.

Volume and severity are different specialties. Surgery generates the most cases at 29% [1], but anaesthesiology — just 6% of the caseload [1] — carries the highest average payout and the highest award rate, 13 of its 16 cases ending in compensation against about 51% in surgery and 33% in general medicine [1]. The study's authors explain it in one line: anaesthetic complications usually lead to death or severe disability [1]. Detail at indemnity for anaesthetists.

Paediatrics produced the single largest award on the smallest caseload. Six cases, one of them ₹1.38 crore [1]. Low frequency does not mean low limit.

The commonest failings are process failings. Lack of skill or care accounted for 36% of recorded errors and deficient medical records for 22%, the second commonest category, ahead of failure to diagnose and deficient perioperative care at 7% each [1]. Records are within your control in a way that clinical outcomes are not, and in Indian dental judgments the practitioners who produced evidence in their defence won 23 of 30 cases, a statistically significant association [4].

3. What turns an award into a much larger payment

The two variables that turn an award into a much larger payment, and the two that make limits hard to set in advance.

FactorWhat the record shows
Interest6-9% running from the date of complaint, not the date of the order [5] — ₹6.08 crore became roughly ₹11 crore as paid [3]
Time to judgmentOne NCDRC obstetric order came 16 years after the delivery [7]; Indian dental cases average about four years [13], with a mean of 1,945 days and a range from 193 to 6,762 days [4]
Claimed versus awarded₹10 crore claimed against ₹47 lakh paid in surgery [1]; in dental cases a mean claim of ₹5,77,287 against a mean award of ₹1,03,998 [4]
Apportionment onto the individual₹5 lakh [11] and ₹20 lakh [7] onto treating doctors personally, separate from the hospital's share
Survival after deathProceedings continue against the legal heirs, with liability limited to the estate that devolves on them [6]
Filing volumeMedical-negligence filings in Indian consumer courts rose 400% per a 2016 NLU survey [14]

Interest is the largest multiplier and the least discussed. Awards carry 6-9% running from the date of the complaint, not the date of the order [5]. Since these matters take years, interest can approach the principal: ₹6.08 crore became roughly ₹11 crore as paid [3], and a ₹10 lakh award in a 2025 NCDRC matter carried 9% running from 2010, fifteen years of it.

Time is the second. One NCDRC obstetric order arrived roughly sixteen years after the delivery [7]. Indian dental cases average about four years from treatment to judgment [13], with a mean of 1,945 days and a range from 193 to 6,762 [4]. Under the Consumer Protection Act a complaint must be filed within two years of the cause of action, but delay is condonable for sufficient cause with reasons recorded [15] — and routinely is.

Apportionment is the third, and it is the one that reaches individual doctors. Indian fora split awards between institution and clinician in stated shares: ₹5 lakh personally onto an attending doctor in one case, where the Supreme Court later reduced the hospital's share and left the doctor's untouched [11][11], and ₹20 lakh onto a treating doctor in a ₹1 crore obstetric matter [7]. For a salaried or junior doctor, the personal share rather than the headline award is the number to insure — the subject of junior doctors under a consultant.

And the exposure now survives you. The Supreme Court held in May 2026 that a medical negligence proceeding does not end with the doctor's death: legal heirs can be substituted, with liability limited to the value of the estate that devolves on them [6]. We cite that from a legal-press report rather than the primary judgment and flag the limitation, but the direction is clear.

4. Claims are not awards, and the gap is about tenfold

The single most useful thing to know on the day a legal notice arrives is that the number on it is not a prediction.

In the NCDRC's 2015-2019 caseload, the highest sum claimed in surgery was ₹10 crore; the highest sum actually paid in surgery was ₹47 lakh [1]. Anaesthesiology's highest claim was ₹3.58 crore against the same ₹47 lakh maximum payout. The dental data quantifies the same gap more precisely: across 111 Indian dental negligence judgments the mean compensation claimed was ₹5,77,287 against a mean actually awarded of ₹1,03,998 — patients asked for roughly five and a half times what forums granted [4]. In that dental sample only 44 of 111 dentists, 39.63%, were found guilty at all [4].

None of this means the notice can be ignored. Late notification to your insurer is the top reason Indian indemnity claims fail [5], so the first action is unchanged — the sequence is at got a legal notice.

5. The limit implication, in one paragraph

The modal sum insured across the 2000-2015 cases in our judgment sweep was ₹10 lakh [5] — chosen by a generation of Indian doctors during exactly the years the Supreme Court moved from lakhs to crores, reaching roughly ₹1 crore in 2009 [8] and ₹6.08 crore plus interest by 2013 [3]. The consequence appears in the record as the under-insurance gap: ₹10 lakh awarded against a ₹4.75 lakh policy, with the surgeon personally paying the ₹5.25 lakh difference [12]. ₹1 crore clears every award in the NCDRC's five-year dataset except the two largest [1], which makes it a defensible floor — provided you also understand that defence costs come out of that limit at every Indian carrier [16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26], the annual aggregate is never reinstated once exhausted [16,18,19,20,22,23], and a 1:4 AOA ratio leaves only a quarter of it available for the claim in front of you [27].

6. Method, limits and maintenance

The specialty figures come from the published tables of a peer-reviewed five-year retrospective review of NCDRC medical-negligence decisions, read directly rather than through a summary — including the awarded and refused counts from which we compute award rates. Two caveats attach. The NCDRC is an appellate body for most medical matters, so its caseload is not a random sample of Indian medical negligence; most complaints are decided in District and State Commissions, where the value of services paid as consideration sets jurisdiction [28] and where no comparable dataset is published. And filing volumes have risen sharply — a 2016 NLU survey recorded a 400% increase in medical-negligence filings in Indian consumer courts [14] — so a 2015-2019 window understates current exposure.

We maintain this page annually, and date it. If you are reading an undated copy of these figures elsewhere, assume the award environment has moved: it did so twice while we were compiling this, with a ₹2 crore NCDRC order in May 2026 [2] and the estate-liability ruling the same month [6]. The companion analysis of what insurers do once an award exists is at how insurers behave when doctors claim.

Frequently asked questions

What is the average compensation for medical negligence in India?
It depends on specialty, and the range is narrower than headlines suggest. In the NCDRC's 2015-2019 caseload the average payout was about ₹4.95 lakh in general medicine, ₹7.10 lakh in orthopaedics, ₹8.38 lakh in surgery, ₹9.97 lakh in obstetrics and gynaecology and ₹13.78 lakh in anaesthesiology, the highest of any specialty [1]. Negligence was established in 135 of 253 cases, 53% [1].
What is the highest medical negligence compensation awarded in India?
₹6.08 crore plus 6% interest running from 1999 — roughly ₹11 crore as actually paid — in the Supreme Court's 2013 judgment, which remains the benchmark [3]. More recently the NCDRC directed ₹2 crore against a surgeon who removed a healthy kidney instead of the diseased one, calling it one of the gravest forms of negligence [2]. The largest awards inside the NCDRC's 2015-2019 study were ₹1.38 crore and ₹1.1 crore [1].
Which specialty faces the most medical negligence cases in India?
Surgery, at 73 of 253 NCDRC cases or 29%, followed by obstetrics and gynaecology at 21% and general medicine at 17% [1][1]. But volume and severity diverge: anaesthesiology was only 6% of the caseload [1] yet carried the highest average payout and the highest award rate, 13 of 16 cases [1][1].
How long does a medical negligence case take in India?
Years, and sometimes more than a decade. One NCDRC obstetric order came roughly sixteen years after the delivery complained of [7]. Indian dental malpractice cases decided between 2018 and 2022 took an average of about four years from treatment to judgment [13], and a separate analysis put the mean wait for final judgment at 1,945 days, with a range from 193 to 6,762 days [4].
Why is the compensation claimed so much higher than the compensation awarded?
Because claims are pleaded aspirationally and awards are assessed. In the NCDRC's 2015-2019 caseload the highest sum claimed in surgery was ₹10 crore against a highest actual payout in that specialty of ₹47 lakh, and anaesthesiology's highest claim of ₹3.58 crore also resolved at a ₹47 lakh maximum [1]. In Indian dental cases the mean claim was ₹5,77,287 against a mean award of ₹1,03,998 — patients asked for roughly five and a half times what forums granted [4].
Does interest get added to medical negligence awards in India?
Routinely, at 6-9%, and running from the date of the complaint rather than the date of the order [5]. Because these cases take years, interest can approach or exceed the principal: India's largest award of ₹6.08 crore carried 6% from 1999 and came to roughly ₹11 crore as paid [3].
Is the doctor or the hospital ordered to pay?
Frequently both, in stated shares. The NCDRC apportioned ₹20 lakh as ₹15 lakh on a hospital and ₹5 lakh on the attending doctor personally, and when the hospital appealed the Supreme Court reduced only the hospital's share [11][11]. In another matter a ₹1 crore award was split ₹80 lakh on the hospital and ₹20 lakh on the treating doctor [7]. Hospitals are separately vicariously liable for their doctors [9], which adds a defendant without removing one.
How much indemnity cover do these awards justify?
₹1 crore clears every award in the NCDRC's 2015-2019 dataset except the two largest [1], which is why it is the sensible floor — but remember the limit is not what it seems: defence costs come out of it at every Indian carrier [16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26], the annual aggregate is never reinstated [16,18,19,20,22,23], and a 1:4 AOA ratio makes only a quarter available for one incident [27]. Full arithmetic at how much cover you need.

Sources

Every figure on this page is footnoted to one of the primary documents below. Reliability tiers: A = regulator, court or filed document; B = reputable publisher or carrier official page; C = user-generated (reported by users).

  1. 1.Indian Journal of Medical EthicsMedical negligence in cases decided by the NCDRC: a five-year retrospective review (2015-2019, n=253). https://ijme.in/articles/medical-negligence-in-cases-decided-by-the-national-consumer-disputes-redressal-commission-a-five-year-retrospective-review/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2023-02-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
  2. 2.Bar & BenchRemoval of wrong kidney: NCDRC awards ₹2 crore compensation to patient's family. https://www.barandbench.com/news/litigation/removal-of-wrong-kidney-ncdrc-awards-2-crore-compensation-to-patients-familyTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Published 2026-05-25 · Accessed 2026-07-21
  3. 3.Supreme Court of India (via IndianKanoon)Balram Prasad v. Kunal Saha (SC, 2013) — AMRI / Anuradha Saha. https://indiankanoon.org/doc/35346928/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2013-10-24 · Accessed 2026-07-17
  4. 4.Journal of Forensic and Legal MedicineThavarajah R, Vijayakumar S, Bhavanisankar P. The Indian dental litigation landscape: an analysis of judgments on dental negligence claims in Indian Consumer Redressal Forums. J Forensic Leg Med 2019;68:101863. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31494526/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2019-11-01 · Accessed 2026-07-25
  5. 5.IndianKanoon (catalog compiled by Best Worst Insurance)Doctors' PI judgments sweep — 25-case catalog of insurer conduct (consumer fora, High Courts, Supreme Court). https://indiankanoon.org/search/?formInput=%22professional%20indemnity%22%20doctorTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
  6. 7.DailyRounds (reporting NCDRC)NCDRC orders ₹1 crore against Indraprastha Apollo Hospitals and Dr Sohini Verma (order dated 22 April 2015; delivery 10 June 1999). https://www.dailyrounds.org/blog/15-years-after-delivery-ncdrc-orders-rs-1-crore-as-compensation-for-medical-negligence/Tier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Published 2015-04-22 · Accessed 2026-07-25
  7. 8.Supreme Court of India (via IndianKanoon)Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences v. Prasanth S. Dhananka (SC, 2009). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/1110505/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
  8. 9.Supreme Court of India (via IndianKanoon)Maharaja Agrasen Hospital v. Master Rishabh Sharma (SC, 2019). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/35792279/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
  9. 10.Bar & BenchNCDRC orders Fortis hospital, doctor to pay ₹65 lakh compensation for negligence, "unnecessary" surgery. https://www.barandbench.com/news/ncdrc-fortis-hospital-doctor-65-lakh-compensation-negligence-unnecessary-surgeryTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Published 2024-08-13 · Accessed 2026-07-21
  10. 11.Verdictum (reporting Supreme Court of India)Managing Director, Kamineni Hospitals v. Peddi Narayana Swami & Anr., 2025 INSC 527 (SC, 22 April 2025). https://www.verdictum.in/court-updates/supreme-court/medical-negligence-compensation-btech-graduate-death-2025-insc-527-managing-director-kamineni-hospitals-v-peddi-narayana-swami-1574967Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2025-04-22 · Accessed 2026-07-25
  11. 12.Kerala SCDRC (via IndianKanoon)United India Insurance v. Lathika (Kerala SCDRC, 2015). https://indiankanoon.org/doc/4522398/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-17
  12. 13.Journal of International Society of Preventive & Community DentistryVadde et al. Indian Dental Malpractice Claims and Lawsuits: A Medico-Legal Analysis (2024). https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11458094/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2024-09-01 · Accessed 2026-07-25
  13. 14.Indian Journal of Ophthalmology (via PMC)IJO editorial on medico-legal protection and the IMA/AIOS Professional Protection Scheme (Jan 2020). https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6951135/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2020-01-01 · Accessed 2026-07-17
  14. 15.Consumer Protection Act 2019, section 69 (via IndianKanoon)Section 69, Consumer Protection Act 2019 — Limitation period. https://indiankanoon.org/doc/36183074/Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2019-08-09 · Accessed 2026-07-25
  15. 16.New India Assurance Co.Professional Indemnity Policy for Doctors and Medical Practitioners — policy wording. https://www.iosweb.net/m-documents/DRINDEMCLAUSE.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  16. 17.United India Insurance Co.Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy for Doctors — prospectus. https://uiic.co.in/web/sites/default/files/Policy-Document/Professional%20Indemnity%20Insurance%20Policy-%20for%20Doctors.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  17. 18.National Insurance Co. (NICL)Professional Indemnity (for Doctors & Medical Practitioners) — full wording + specimen schedule. https://nationalinsurance.nic.co.in/sites/default/files/2026-04/Prof.Indmn%20Doctor%20Medical%20estb%20prospectus.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  18. 19.The Oriental Insurance Co.Professional Indemnity Policy for Doctors & Medical Practitioners — policy wording (Wayback copy). https://web.archive.org/web/20230402045912id_/https://orientalinsurance.org.in/documents/10182/5106103/Terms+%26+conds+of++PROFESSIONAL+INDEMNITY+POLICY+FOR+DOCTORS+%26+MEDICAL+PRACTITIONERS.pdf/065f44d4-58e6-6bca-a65e-a414a2197132Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  19. 20.ICICI Lombard (hosted by IRDAI)Professional Indemnity Policy (For Doctors & Medical Practitioners) — policy wording. https://irdai.gov.in/documents/37343/993134/6_Policy+Wordings+Doctors+and+Medical+Practitioners_Misc+21_GEN073.pdf/dcdecdb3-f154-806d-88d7-1ebffee7eb61?version=1.1&t=1668243606849&download=trueTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  20. 21.HDFC ERGO General InsuranceMediserve Professional Indemnity — policy wording. https://customer-portal-assets.hdfcergo.com/documents/MediserveProfessionalIndemnity-PolicyWordings-526654013238.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  21. 22.IFFCO Tokio General InsuranceProfessional Indemnity Policy — wording for Doctors, Medical Practitioners and Medical Establishments. https://www.iffcotokio.co.in/content/dam/iffcotokio/policy-wordings/motor/professional-indemnity-policy-wording-doctors.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  22. 23.IndusInd General Insurance (ex Reliance General)IndusInd Professional Indemnity Policy for Doctors and Medical Practitioners — policy wording. https://www.indusindinsurance.com/Downloads/professional-indemnity-policy-for-doctors-and-medical-practictioners.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  23. 24.Bajaj General Insurance (ex Bajaj Allianz)Professional Indemnity Insurance Policy — policy wording (generic, retail UIN). https://www.bajajgeneralinsurance.com/download-documents/commercial-insurance/professional-indemnity-insurance-policy/Professional-Indemnity.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  24. 25.Tata AIG General InsuranceProfessional Shield — policy wording (generic professionals' E&O). https://www.tataaig.com/s3/professional_shield_417d979962.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  25. 26.Go Digit General InsuranceDigit Professional Liability Policy — retail policy wording. https://www.godigit.com/content/dam/godigit/directportal/en/downloads/others/policy-wordings-digit-professional-liability-policy.pdfTier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Accessed 2026-07-08
  26. 27.IndusInd General InsuranceProfessional Indemnity Insurance — product page. https://www.indusindinsurance.com/smes-insurance/professional-indemnity-insuranceTier B · Reputable publisher / carrier official · Accessed 2026-07-08
  27. 28.Press Information Bureau, Government of IndiaCentre notifies the Consumer Protection (Jurisdiction of the District Commission, the State Commission and the National Commission) Rules, 2021. https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1786342Tier A · Regulator / court / filed document · Published 2021-12-30 · Accessed 2026-07-25